Posted by: runuphill | April 30, 2012

Zion Adventures – Kolob, Willis, Chasm, Beartrap

April 21 & 22, 2012 : Yet another spectacular weekend in Zion.  Mindy/Sarah/Buzz run the Zion traverse (or at least most of it for Buzz and Mindy. Sarah did the entire route) while Ryan and I do what we enjoy most… exploring technical rarely traveled terrain in the park.  Ryan and I made the journey to a rarely (if ever?) visited location for a unique view of the second longest natural arch in the world (at 287′) on Saturday:

A rare view of Kolob Arch.

Sunday Ryan and I did a ~25 mile lollipop loop I’ve been obsessing over for a year starting at Lee’s Pass, cruising down to LaVerkin Creek, up Willis Creek (which was INCREDIBLE), climbing to the rarely visited Chasm Lake, and thrashing over to the head of Beartrap Canyon. We made a quick descent of this recently (2011) flash-flood ravaged canyon and then ran back to the car.  Honestly this route defined a near-perfect Zion adventure in my opinion.  A few pics here from the weekend here.

After 18 hours (over Sat & Sun) the skin on my feet, which I destroyed during Barkley, finally gave up…


Responses

  1. You must take part in a contest for among the best blogs on the web. I’ll advocate this site!

  2. I read a lot of interesting content here. Probably you spend a lot of time
    writing, i know how to save you a lot of work, there
    is an online tool that creates high quality, google friendly posts in minutes, just search in google – laranitas free content source

  3. Interesting perspective of the arch…I have done Death Point a few times along with some of the lower sub peaks beneath it. This looks like Death Point west rim? Or possibly the peak just SE of 7172. We left registers at the top of some of these peaks. Shoot me an email….rjhooper@rjhooper.com

  4. Have you ever done Chasm Canyon from the top all the way to the bottom? I did the first descent of that about 12 years ago. It’s a brilliant V-slot with a swim across the lake and then out.

  5. It looks no different than my feet after badwater 😀

  6. nice blister.


Leave a comment

Categories