Posted by: runuphill | July 15, 2017

Millwood 100 – “Official” Page

Storheim - Blanche

Erik Storheim descending to Lake Blanche during his 2012 run.  PC : Greg Norrander

Backround

The idea of Millwood began back in 2010 with simple motives.  The Wasatch mountains are home to hundreds of miles of incredible, steep, and rugged trails, yet a small fraction of them are actually used in endurance foot races.  The route is compact, taking place completely within the boundaries of Millcreek Canyon and the Cottonwoods (Big and Little), has only 0.5mi of ground that is touched twice, < 1 mi. of road, and hardly any flat terrain.  It is easy to set gear caches for solo or minimally support efforts, and similar to objectives such as Nolans 14 and the WURL, you can do it anytime you like.  While it is a challenging route, it is not technical.  Portions of it feel poorly maintained because, well, they are poorly maintained as a result of minimal traffic.  For the most part, however, the route is on nice steep trails.

Millwood presents an interesting opportunity for us to study the psychology of motivation.  For many folks, the lead-up to a big race, the energy of competition, the obligation that comes with an entry fee and travel expenses, and simply being “visible” to a broader audience seem to push folks to do things they wouldn’t normally do. What would happen with Millwood?  It is arguably more challenging than Hardrock and with no fame/glory at the finish.  No kissing the rock, not awards banquet, no belt buckle, no t-shirt, no Ultrasignup score. So, why start?  Why keep going?  Why finish?  For 5 years the “results” weren’t even published…

For me, it has been a real treat to watch people research the route, find the requisite unwavering internal commitment, apply themselves, try multiple times if necessary, and eventually finish.  If you attempt it and want to share you story, please me know either by email or in the comment section below.

The Route

  • Distance : 100 miles
  • Ascent : ~35kft

Caltopo Map : https://caltopo.com/m/7U78

Millwood - Overview

Elevation Profile

Millwood - Elevation Profile

Distance Table

Click image below for printable .pdf

Millwood 100 - rev-

Finishes

  • #24 & 25 – 2022 : Marci & Matt Van Horn – 57:28 – IGStrava
  • #23 – 2022-10-02 : Jesse Rich – 29:31 – IGStrava
  • #22 – 2022-09-19 : Justine Hewitt – 44:39 – IGStrava
  • #21 – 2021-06-26 : Greg Norrander – 39:21 – IG1IG2
  • #20 – 2020-10-28 : Doug Metcalf – 46:18 – IGStrava
  • #19 – 2020-09-20 : Lorena Bush – 50:03 – IG
  • #18 – 2020-09-20 : Shalise Morgan – 47:03 – IG
  • #17 – 2020-09-20 : Daniel Schurlof – 46:44 – Strava
  • #16 – 2020-09-19 : Luke Nelson – 31:33 – IG
  • #15 – 2020-09-13 : Kyle Markesich – 43:13 – IG
  • #14 – 2020-09-05 : Adam Bellomy – 32:43 – Strava
  • #13 – 2020-08-11 : Marci Pearson – 51:40 – Strava
  • #12 – 2020-08-10 : Brian Culmo – 45 hrs (TBR)
  • #11 – 2020-08-08 : Jason Davis – 37:14 – IG
  • #9 & 10 – 2020-07-24 : Brian Harward & Eric Edelman : 43:11
  • #8 – 2018-07-29 : Carter Williams : 46:21
  • #7 – 2017-08-11 : Jay Aldous : 31:39 : Story
  • #6 – 2017-07-15 : Ryan Tockstein : 35:20 : IG : Story
  • #5 – 2017-07-09 : Greg Norrander : 41:01 : Story
  • #4 – 2016-07-03 : Jennilyn Eaton : 45:33 : Story
  • #3 – 2013-08-01 : Matt VanHorn : 48:26 : Story
  • #2 – 2012-10-07 : Jared Campbell : 34:20 : Story : Photos
  • #1 – 2012-06-08 : Erik Storheim : 38:45 : Story

Efforts (and fun stories)

  • 2021 Solo self-supported (no crew or pacers) attempt (56 miles) by Marci Pearson – Strava
  • 2015-09-26 : Ben and Bethany Lewis : 55 miles : Story
  • 2014-10 : Bethany Lewis : Photos (Jared’s)
  • 2011-08 : Chad Brackelsberg : multi-day effort : StoryVideo
    • Matt Hart joined him for a portion : StoryVideo

Other Background Information


Responses

  1. Hey Jared! I finished Millwood on 10/22/23 in 39 hours and 29 minutes, and it was awesome! Thanks for creating such a fun and challenging route that links together a lot of my favorite trails and peaks in the Wasatch. It was an experience I’ll never forget!

    Tyler Valovic

    https://www.strava.com/activities/10091744735/overview

  2. I’ve been soaking up as much information as possible about it in the form of blogs, articles, etc. I just need to know how to get my name in the hat for this awesome adventure. Anything you can share would be greatly appreciated. Thanks so much!

  3. […] the brainchild of Jared Campbell, the uber-prolific “wizard of the wasatch” (exhibit B: Millwood 100) and owner of many other superlatives. In addition to being an all-around great person, he’s […]

  4. Hi Jared,
    I finished Millwood on 10/19/2020 in 46:18. What an amazing route, I enjoyed this so much. It required I give it my all, and I got back what I was looking for. Thanks for outlining such a great adventure! I love this course!

    IG link(see additional posts for stories): https://www.instagram.com/p/CGjFvUIFmTi/?igshid=ogi184b69fi8

    Strava:
    https://www.strava.com/activities/4215836075

    Thanks!
    Doug Metcalf

    • Congrats Doug! Thanks for including the details. I look forward to reading more about your effort. Cheers, Jared

  5. Thanks Jared! My last name is actually spelled “Schulof.” Here’s a Strava link w my finishing time of 46:31:

    https://strava.app.link/4HnR6wN3X9

    Many, many, many thanks to all the folks who helped make this possible: Pat Schulof, Aaron Jeffries, Josh Houck, Bob Kain, Johnny Stoddard, Erik Storheim, and Jen LNU. And of course to Jared himself — I hope that summer 2020 has shown you how much your masochistic courses matter to the Utah mountain community. Thanks for giving us all something to strive for.

  6. Hey Jared. On September 5, 2020 I completed the Millwood 100. My elapsed time was 32 hours and 43 minutes. My name is Adam Bellomy. Thanks for putting this route together and maintaining this page. As someone who spends almost all of his free time in the central wasatch, this route combines so many special places for me. The whole time I was on the course I had an overwhelming sense of gratitude for this special place! Here is a link to my strava.

    https://www.strava.com/activities/4017530684

    Cheers!

  7. Cheers concerning the post and I find yourself being back to read much more! Just checking out some blogs, seems a fairly nice system you happen to become utilizing. Im currently making use of WordPress for some my blogs but Im not happy with it up to now. Im searching to change 1 of these a lot more than to a platform similar to yours (BlogEngine) as a trial operate. Anything in particular you would suggest?
    Berluti Sneakers http://www.berlutishoeshop.com

  8. Its in reality a huge post. I am sure that anyone would like to visit it again and again. After reading this post I got some very unique information which are in actual fact very helpful for anyone. This is a post experiencing some crucial information. I wish that in future such posting should go on.
    Russell and Bromley Oxfards http://www.russellandbromley.shop

  9. Thanks a lot for sharing this official page with us! I am pretty sure that you will be able to provide more details in the future.

  10. Hey, Jared.

    Don’t know how to send this information. Finished the DAMN Millwood last night (Sunday 7/29) at 20:50: started Friday (7/27) at 22:29, so 46:21(?). Not sure what else needs to go in here. I took a photo of the watch at the beginning and the end (and a bunch of other bad photos along the way) in case there is supposed to be more verification, but I don’t know how to post a photo to a blog. And Dale Heisler ran a couple of sections with me, thank God. But mostly, I was just texting to a couple of people where I was and when, to make sure someone knew I was moving (when I got a signal.) Best comment, perhaps about the course and me: I met Phil and… (damn, the name escapes) going up Days Fork. “Man, you look like hell!” The training was really fun. Give me a couple of days on the whole run… My new advice from this race: Always keep one bottle of chocolate milk in the refrigerator even if you don’t usually drink the stuff.

    Thanks for putting this piece of… (What? it IS an amazing ride, but…)… together.

    • Great work Carter! If you end up writing about your run send me the link. Cheers, Jared

  11. Wow, amazing blog format! How lengthy have you ever been running a
    blog for? you made running a blog look easy.
    The entire glance of your site is magnificent, let alone
    the content material!

  12. Hi Jared….the Jared Campbell!!! I have been searching for entry information for the Barkley Marathon and hopefully you are the one that can send me in the right direction. I’ve been soaking up as much information as possible about it in the form of blogs, articles, etc. I just need to know how to get my name in the hat for this awesome adventure. Anything you can share would be greatly appreciated. Thanks so much!


Leave a comment

Categories